Live from… Scotland: Travelling through the West Highlands

DSC_0983

Fishing boat at the harbour of Mallaig in Scotland

As I’m writing this I’m sitting in the lounge of my hostel for the night, overlooking the harbour of Mallaig – a small coastal town in the West Highlands of Scotland. Mallaig is probably not a familiar name to you unless you’ve been around here yourself, but it’s a transport hub for the ferries crossing to islands like Isle of Skye, as well as one of the end stations of the train tracks following West Highland Line. The other one being Oban, which is my destination tomorrow.

SEE ALSO: Couchsurfing in Scotland: Saved by a stranger

DSC_0984

Are you looking at me!?

I spent last night in a hostel dorm in Fort William, which is known as being “The Outdoor Capital of the UK”. A mecca for hikers and mountain bikers, many of them going there to conquer Ben Nevis, which is the highest mountain here in Scotland. It was great getting back to hostelling and I was lucky to meet some really nice people from Scotland, Sweden, Canada and Switzerland. Something that makes a big difference when you’re travelling on your own, and it’s always nice to exchange travel tips and stories. So guys, if you’re reading this – it was a pleasure to meet you!

SEE ALSO: FABULOUS FEATURES IN FALKIRK

DSC_0985

What a beautiful spot to “park” your boat! At the marina of Mallaig, Scotland

The train journey through these West Highlands is truly amazing, and now I understand why so many people fall in love with this place. Therefore I’m really looking forward to get to share some tips on my blog again soon. My travel schedule just hasn’t allowed for much writing lately, as I’ve been travelling in Spain, Sweden and now Scotland since my latest update from Switzerland. But I feel truly blessed to have been able to do so.

So, If you’re looking for inspiration to any of these destinations – or just want to keep up, you can follow Travelooney Blog on Facebook, where I’ll be sharing all updates and “bonus material” from my trips.

I hope you’re well wherever you are!

 

Brian

By Brian Schæfer Dreyer
www.travelooneyblog.com
www.travelooney.dk

travelooney@gmail.com

